Pitch for Personal Coach: Staying Heart Healthy

Stop.  If you’ve ever wanted to life a healthier, happier and longer life look no further.   This is the page you were meant to stumble upon, or the blog you were destined to find.  I am going to help you develop a healthier body, by getting you heart healthy.

Heart disease is a burden that has been wreaking havoc on our nation for far too long.  About 600,000 people die of heart disease in the United States every year–that’s 1 in every 4 deaths!

But that doesn’t have to be the case.  Lowering your blood pressure and cholesterol can significantly reduce your risk of dying from heart disease.

You can protect your heart by:

  • Eating a healthy diet that is low in salt; low in total fat, saturated fat, and cholesterol; and rich in fresh fruits and vegetables.
  • Taking a brisk 10-minute walk, 3 times a day, 5 days a week.
  • Not smoking. If you smoke, quit as soon as possible.

The steps sound easy enough right?  But being told to do something and actually doing it, everyday, are two different things.  Whether you don’t know where to start, or you need accountability and motivation, a personal coach can take you to that next level.

But just what is a personal coach?  The International Coach Federation (ICF) — the leading global coaching organization and professional association for coaches — defines coaching as “partnering with clients in a thought-provoking and creative process that inspires them to maximize their personal and professional potential.”

If you follow my blog, you know I have long been an advocate for heart disease prevention.  I lost my grandmother to heart disease when I was young.  To say her death had a significant impact on me, would be a gross understatement.  I managed to move past the tragedy by helping others maintain healthier lifestyles.

I am not promising to “fix” you.  My plan is to get you on track, and provide you with the tools to keep you there.  I will provide you with simple yet delicious heart healthy recipes, the top exercises to improve your heart health, and motivational videos.

I understand how hard to can be, wanting to make a change, but not knowing how to start –or feeling defeated when your will-power gives out.  I will not give up on you.  Instead I give you my word, that in five weeks I will have you feeling better and living heather.  And to top it all off, we will have some fun along the way.

Aren’t you tired of hearing the statistics of heart disease?  This is our time to make a difference.

It is that simple.

 

Leave a comment